6 women’s, 4 men’s teams advance to second round


7 minutes ago
SEC Staff

Photo: Florida Athletics

The 2023 NCAA Division I Tennis Championships began today with first round action.

The Southeastern Conference had 10 men’s teams and 9 women’s teams make the field. The 10 men’s teams in the field are Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas A&M. The nine women’s teams are Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt.

In women’s, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt advanced to the second round. All second matches will be played on Saturday, May 6.

Half of the men’s first round were held today with the other half being played tomorrow. In today’s action, Kentucky, Mississippi State, South Carolina and Texas A&M have advanced to Saturday’s second round.

First Round
May 5 (Friday)

Match Score
FIU vs. Auburn (Miami, Fla.) W 4-3
LSU vs. Wisconsin (Ames, Iowa) L 1-4
Arkansas vs. Washington (Norman, Okla.) L 2-4
Vanderbilt vs. East Tennessee State (Columbus, Ohio) W 4-0
Florida A&M at Georgia W 4-0
Quinnipiac at Texas A&M W 4-0
South Carolina vs. Old Dominion (Chapel Hill, N.C.) L 2-4
North Florida at Florida  W 4-0
Southeast Missouri State at Tennessee W 4-0

Second Round
May 6 (Saturday)

Match Time
Georgia Tech at Florida  1 pm ET
Auburn at Miami 12 PM CT
Baylor at Texas A&M 1 pm CT
Vanderbilt at Ohio State 3 pm CT
FSU at Georgia  4 pm ET
Wake Forest at Tennessee 4 pm ET

First Round
May 5 (Friday)

Match Score
Oklahoma State vs Florida (Tucson, Ariz.) L 2-4
Presbyterian at Kentucky W 4-0
South Carolina State at South Carolina W 4-0
Alabama State at Mississippi State W 4-0
SMU vs Texas A&M (Fort Worth, Texas) W 4-1

May 6 (Saturday)

Match Time
Cal vs LSU (Ann Arbor, Mich.) 9 am CT
Ole Miss vs VCU (Charlottesville, VA.) 9 am CT
Cornell vs Auburn (Durham, N.C.) 10 am CT
Belmont at Tennessee  1 pm ET
Florida Gulf Coast at Georgia  1 pm ET

Second Round
May 6 (Second Round)

Match Time
Northwestern at Kentucky 1 pm ET
Middle Tennessee at Mississippi State 1 pm CT
FSU at South Carolina 2 pm ET
Texas A&M at TCU 4 pm CT

Leave a Reply