Dogs recruits to debut, Ilias gets first crack at Bunnies No.7 jersey, as new faces galore in pre-season teams

featured, League, NRL 2022, NRL fixtures, NRL pre-season, pre-season trial

The teams are being announced for the opening round of trials this weekend with many new faces getting a hit-out heading into round one on March 10.

All 40 players who were selected in the All Stars game last Saturday got a chance to blow away the off-season cobwebs and thankfully there were no serious injuries in the game.

Indigenous forward David Fifita came off worse for wear after a late shoulder charge from Maori fullback Jordan Rapana but the Titans second-rower has been cleared of injury and the Titans have said he will play again in the pre-season.

Rapana has been banned for two matches but under NRL rules, he is still eligible for club trials as only players suspended for a grade-three offence or worse are unable to be selected.

Trials will be played from Friday until Monday night, including double-headers at Leichhardt Oval and CommBank Stadium, with all matches broadcast on Kayo Sports.

There will be another full slate of eight trials next weekend, including the traditional Charity Shield between Souths and the Dragons at Mudgee on February 26.

Clubs will name extended trial squads in the lead-up to the match with unlimited interchanges available and matches split into 20-minute quarters.

Squads for each of the 16 teams will be published here as they’re announced.

Friday, February 18

6pm AEDT: Sydney Roosters v Canberra Raiders at Leichhardt Oval

Roosters: To be announced

Raiders: To be announced

8pm AEDT: Wests Tigers v Manly Sea Eagles at Leichhardt Oval

Tigers: To be announced

Sea Eagles: To be announced

Saturday, February 19

4pm AEDT: Melbourne Storm v New Zealand Warriors at Casey Fields, Melbourne

Cameron Munster, Brandon Smith, Harry Grant and Chris Lewis, who are suspended for round one, will turn out for the Storm as will Maroons winger Xavier Coates and former Bulldogs utility back Nick Meaney in their first outings in a Melbourne jersey.


Grant Anderson
Xavier Coates
Sua Fa’alogo
Darius Farmer
Bronson Garlick
Cole Geyer
Harry Grant
AJ Gudgeon
Jack Howarth
Dean Ieremia
George Jennings
Cooper Johns
Josh King
Chris Lewis
Trent Loiero
Wes Lolo
Alex MacDonald
Nick Meaney
Cameron Munster
Jayden Nikorima
Jonah Pezet
Will Samuel
Marion Seve
Patrice Siolo
Brandon Smith
Will Warbrick
Tyran Wishart

Warriors: To be announced

7pm AEST (6pm AEDT): North Queensland Cowboys v South Sydney Rabbitohs at Barlow Park, Cairns

Cowboys coach Todd Payten has named a squad featuring mostly young talent – journeyman centre Brendan Elliot will play his first game for North Queensland while Connelly Lemuelu has been switched from the backs into the second row.

Souths have rested many of their big guns but will give Blake Taaffe a run at fullback with Lachlan Ilias getting first crack at Adam Reynolds’ vacant No.7 jersey.


1 Tom Chester
2 Laitia Moceidreke
3 Jordan Lipp
4 Brendan Elliot
5 Iosefo Baleiwairiki
6 Jake Bourke
7 Daejarn Asi
8 Emry Pere
9 Josh Chudleigh
10 Griffin Neame
11 Ben Condon
12 Connelly Lemuelu
13 Riley Price
14 Patrick Kaufusi
15 Ross Bella
16 Bernard Lewis
17 Andre Niko
18 Nick Lui-Toso
19 Jayden Hodges
20 Kayleb Milne
21 Zac Laybutt
22 Kyle Laybutt


1 Blake Taaffe
2 Zane Bijorac
3 Jaxson Paulo
4 Josiah Karapani
5 Richie Kennar
6 Jack Campagnolo
7 Lachlan Ilias
8 Hame Sele
9 Peter Mamouzelos
10 Davvy Moale
11 Ben Lovett
12 Jed Cartwright
13 Siliva Havili
14 Tallis Duncan
15 Tyson Hodge
16 Shaquai Mitchell
17 Lachlan Gale
18 Izaac Thompson
19 Jacob Gagai
20 Isaiah Vailalo
21 Nick Mougios
22 Romano Cook
23 Shannon Gardiner
24 Trent Peoples

7pm AEST (8pm AEDT): Gold Coast Titans v Brisbane Broncos at Cbus Super Stadium

Titans: To be announced

Broncos: To be announced

Sunday, February 20

4pm AEDT: Penrith Panthers v Cronulla Sharks at CommBank Stadium

Panthers: To be announced

Sharks: To be announced

6pm AEDT: Parramatta Eels v St George Illawarra Dragons at CommBank Stadium

Eels: To be announced

Dragons: To be announced

Monday, February 21

7pm: Newcastle Knights v Canterbury Bulldogs at McDonald Jones Stadium

Bulldogs recruits Tevita Pangai jnr, Matt Dufty and Paul Vaughan have been named to make their club debuts. Pangai and prop Jack Hetherington are set to spend time on the edge rather than the middle this season.

Knights: To be announced


Aaron Schoupp
Ava Seumanufagai
Bailey Biondi-Odo
Brandon Wakeham
Chris Patolo
Corey Waddell
Creedence Toia
Declan Casey
Eli Clarke
Jack Hetherington
Jackson Topine
Jacob Kiraz
Jake Averillo
Jayden Okunbor
Jeremy Marshall-King
Joe Stimson
Josh Cook
Josh Jackson
Kyle Flanagan
Larson Dale-Doyle
Luke Thompson
Matthew Dufty
Max King
Paul Alamoti
Paul Vaughan
Reece Hoffman
Tevita Pangai jnr

Leave a Reply