Former Alabama QB Mac Jones Honored By NCAA


7 hours ago
SEC Staff

Photo: Fred Daniels

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Jan. 12, 2022) — Former Alabama quarterback, SEC champion and SEC Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year Mac Jones has been named among the 2022 Today’s Top 10 Award winners, according to an announcement Tuesday by the NCAA.

The award recognizes former student-athletes for their success on the field, in the classroom and in the community. The recipients, who completed their athletics eligibility during the 2020-21 academic year, will be recognized at the Honors Celebration on Jan. 19 during the NCAA Convention in Indianapolis. The honorees are selected by the NCAA Honors Committee.

Jones helped lead the Alabama football team to a 13-0 record and the 2020 SEC and national championships. In his final season with the Crimson Tide, Jones won the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Manning Award. He graduated summa cum laude and was named the 2020 SEC Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year and was a member of the CoSIDA Academic All-America Team.

Jones is in his first season as the starting quarterback for the New England Patriots.

In addition to Jones, the other nine recipients of the award are: Anna Cockrell (USC women’s track and field), Kendall Cornick (South Dakota softball), Stefani Deschner (Notre Dame women’s fencing), Lauren Huebner (Saginaw Valley State women’s track and field), Eka Jose (Washington University in St. Louis women’s track and field), Jack Ming Jie Lin (Columbia men’s tennis), Danny Logan (Denver men’s lacrosse), Estela Perez-Somarriba (Miami women’s tennis), Kendall Sosa (Illinois Wesleyan women’s basketball).

Leave a Reply