Palmeiras and Chelsea is a fight between Brazilians and Europeans – B!

Palmeiras players celebrate their spot in the World Cup final

Chelsea and Palmeiras play the final of the Club World Cup this Saturday (12), starting at 1:30 pm (Brasilia time). It is the 12th time that clubs from South America and Europe have met in the big decision, being the seventh time that a Brazilian team is the representative of its continent in the current format of the competition – excluding the first edition that had two Brazilian teams (Corinthians and Vasco) deciding the title.

And how is the retrospect of Brazilian clubs in the decisions? Let’s get to the numbers!

There are six decisions between Brazilians and Europeans, with three titles for each side, so this Saturday’s final can act as a challenge.

Download the Yahoo Mail app in less than 1 min and get all your emails in one place

Subscribe to the Yahoo Newsletter in 3 Minutes now

One of the defeats of teams from the Old Continent against Brazilians is precisely Chelsea, in 2012, when the English lost to Corinthians, with a goal from Paolo Guerrero. Seven years earlier, São Paulo had overthrown another Englishman, Liverpool. And the year after Tricolor, it was Internacional’s turn to beat Barcelona.

2005 – Sao Paulo 1×0 Liverpool
2006 – Internacional 1×0 Barcelona
2012 – Corinthians 1×0 Chelsea

The Brazilians’ three defeats against Europeans all came in the past decade. Santos was thrashed by Barcelona in 2011, Grêmio lost to Real Madrid with a goal from Cristiano Ronaldo in 2017 and Flamengo “played on an equal footing” with Liverpool in 2019, but ended up defeated in the same way.

2011 – Barcelona 4×0 Santos
2017 – Real Madrid 1×0 Gremio
2019 – Liverpool 1×0 Flamengo

When it comes to finals between Europeans and South Americans, the retrospective is no longer very good for South America, as Brazilians were the only ones to beat European teams in World Cup finals in the new format. Against teams from other countries on the continent, the Europeans are left: five wins in five opportunities, putting the record in their favor, with eight titles in 11 finals.

2007 – Milan 4×2 Boca Juniors
2008 – Manchester United 1×0 LDU
2009 – Barcelona 2×1 Students
2014 – Real Madrid 2×0 San Lorenzo
2015 – Barcelona 3×0 River Plate

Leave a Reply