Winners, Dragons, Broncos, Emma Tonegato, Millie Boyle


NRLW history was made on Thursday night as Dragons fullback Emma Tonegato and Broncos front-rower Millie Boyle were named joint winners of the Dally M Medal for female player of the season.

Never before had the medal been awarded to two players in one season in the women’s game, but Tonegato and Boyle couldn’t be split in this year’s voting at the NRLW awards night in Brisbane.

Tonegato also clinched the tackle of the year award for an extraordinary effort on Roosters centre Jessica Sergis in round five.

ULTIMATE GUIDE: Everything you need to know about the 2022 Masters

READ MORE: Gus blasts ‘disgraceful’ attacks on Flanagan call

READ MORE: Supercar ‘totally destroyed’ in Melbourne crash

NRL chief executive Andrew Abdo hailed the exceptional seasons of Tonegato and Boyle.

“Both Emma and Millie have been standouts this season and should be congratulated on this honour, becoming the first-ever dual winners of the Dally M female player of the year award – in a season of firsts,” Abdo said.

“To be able to celebrate our best female players’ achievements at such a special night, capped by the historic presentation to dual Dally M female player of the year winners, is a fantastic way to build towards not only Sunday’s grand final, but an exciting future.”

The Dally M Medal is awarded through a 3-2-1 voting system.

Tonegato will take to the field for Sunday’s NRLW grand final in Brisbane as her Dragons side clashes with the Roosters.

Dally M female player of the year

Emma Tonegato (Dragons) and Millie Boyle (Broncos)

Captain of the year

Brittany Breayley-Nati (Titans)

Coach of the year

Jamie Soward (Dragons)

Try of the year

Shaniah Power (Titans)

Tackle of the year

Emma Tonegato (Dragons)

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Leave a Reply